Note to {Future} Self

Dear Future Self,

I don’t know where you are in life right now, but I hope that it’s somewhere good. Or, at least I hope that you can find some good in it. I don’t know if you’re still doing the same job, are in the same field, or if you’ve found something else, but I hope you’re doing something you love. More importantly, I hope you’re making a difference while doing it because I know that’s always been important for you.

Before I tell you some things that I think are important for you to remember, I want to tell you where we are in life at the point this letter’s written.

Right now, we’re 21 yrs. old and life seems to be going pretty well, despite the constant setbacks, anxieties, and stressors in it. We’re enjoying college, something that we know is a privilege, and while we’re having fun, we’ve also had to question some things that we’ve always believed. However, I can tell you that our mind has expanded and we have grown a lot from our doubts.

I’m proud to say that even having experienced life a little more and having witnessed the poverty, injustices, and pain it possess, we still have a warm heart. It’s not yet hardened, even though it’s tainted by multiple films of understanding. When you’re reading this, I hope you can say that that’s still true.

I’ve found it hard to get up some mornings, but I’ve managed to do it as you’ve done every single day thus far. I’m struggling with finances, something I hope you aren’t dealing with now, and am wrestling with the unknown, something I’m sure you’re still doing. We’ve tackled obstacles with more self-awareness, but also with fixed uncertainty, which is okay.

I’m trying to figure out who I want us to be right now because I believe we can make anything happen, but I do feel the pressure. Not only am I responsible for me and how my life is now, but I am responsible for you and how our life will be.

But that’s what I want you to remember.

It’s not about our career, our steady figure, or our status in society. It’s about who we are as a person.

Often times we get asked the question: who do you want to be? We always answer it with what we think people, including ourselves, want to hear. Success sounds like a profession, a steady figure, or a killer love life that compliments all the other parts of our life. We aim our general direction towards what we think will make us and others proud, and I don’t think that that’s a bad thing. But I also don’t think that that’s the most important thing.

I hope that you never lose sight of the most crucial aspect that you’ll ever have in your entire life: love. I hope you’re genuine. I hope you’re honest. I hope you’re kind. I hope you tip well. I hope you don’t let the pain inflicted by others make you shut down or make your heart twisted. I hope you love on the haters, and believe in the non-believers. I hope you trust in your future, which is probably so uncertain–kind of like you’re doing right now.

Sincerely,

Your Hopeful and all too Willing Past Self

One thought on “Note to {Future} Self

Leave a Reply

